Draw Me and Write Me!


When I was a little girl, I spent countless time flipping pages of my storybooks. What I loved the most was to see those coloring pictures that never ceased to amaze me.  I didn’t spend too much time on reading them, in which, I regret it so much. A picture can truly inspire the readers to savor every detail of it, and through pictures, I also gained plenty of insights to teach my students how to learn and enjoy English. In teaching English, we have to cover up the four macro skills: Listening, Speaking, Reading, and Writing. And for me, guiding children how to write is not a piece of cake; it’s a piece of steel! ^.^ Hence, in my serenity, I had some in-depth learning through readings lots of books of how to make children enjoy writing. Eventually, I figured out that many writers agree that through pictures or drawings, teachers can build student’s passion for writing.

In this post I’d like to share three of my amazing experiences with my three vigorous students. Honestly, I was deeply blessed to be part of this teaching adventure with them. I wasn’t just a teacher to them; I was also their classmate, which means together we established our writing skills.

My first private student was Vienzo. He’s an Indonesian, but I met him in the Philippines. When I taught him, he was still 5 years old and barely knew English. At first, I was having hard teaching him; he was too mobile–he liked jumping, shouting more than studying. I was sort of juggling in handling him. Therefore, I decided to purchase plenty of English storybooks with fascinating pictures, aiming to make him sit still. Ta-da! It worked well–smooth as h*ll ^_^ I succeeded to make him enjoy the study. Stealing more of interest, I challenged him to draw something and asked him to write a story through his drawings. Gradually, he was able to establish basic techniques of writing.

Engrossed in drawing and writing

My second private student was Dion. He was four years old when I met him. His mom happens to be my second cousin, and she wanted her son to learn English, so she requested me to teach him the language. I also put Dion in my collection of a mobile student; his liveliness was beyond Vienzo. He recharged me every single minute. He was the most hilarious and cunning kid I’ve ever encountered. To steal his attention, I drew lots of cute pictures for him to get interested in learning. By exerting efforts in building his passion for language, he finally, at the age of 5, was able to read and write some English words.

Fun Learning

My drawings to drag Dion’s attention ^.^

The third experience I had was with Richard, an eight-year-old boy. He was pretty much docile. It was never hard teaching him, probably age does matter.  I could apply all methods to him without him complaining. He has passion for drawing, and it became my bridge to cross his world of learning. Hence, I challenged him to write an emergency storybook. To my surprise, he was able to create three hilarious stories in his emergency storybook.

Showing His Emergency Book

a story of two penguins (inspired by happy feet movie :D)

About bullying

about voracious ant

Finding one’s interest is one of the most pivotal weapons for teachers to be carried along. a picture or drawing is children’s world of imagination. When we dive into their world, all they’ll do is to ask for more.  Gradually, I begin to see the fruits of my works. Simply by asking them to pour out all their imagination in drawing and writing. You may not know that our imagination screams, “Draw me and Write me!” ^_^

 

 

Thank you for reading my post, just to let you know I’m open for suggestions, ideas, or inspirations of what to write. Stay connected!

Leave a Reply

