DINE LIKE A ROYAL


When students invited me to join their banquet program, that would be held at Savoy Hotel, I felt like being invited to attend a Royal Banquet in Queen Elisabeth’s palace. Indeed, I considered it to be such a big event; wherein, in my life, I seldom attended an event that requires proper gown and jaw-dropping look. And I was pretty much certain that I would be facing complexities in preparing myself. However, those complexities turned out to be stunning; it took three stages just to reach the final.

Beauty Talks

Having born and raised as a pastor kid, I was advised not to expose myself too much on cosmetics.  My mom trained us (my siblings and I) to show our natural looks; no wonder, my knowledge about beautification is very limited, and this brought me to be such a disadvantage because every time I am invited to a special occasion such as wedding party, or banquet, I, most of the time, experience fashion-crisis, having no idea what to wear, how to paint the face and do the hair then more other crises come along. Despite all these beauty ordeals, the universe always manages to wipe them out. And for this special event, I had my two queen Esters (my students) to end my crises. They happened to have the same name Ester. The first Ester did my hair and make-up, she is utterly much of great help to me; her braiding skill is truly admirable. The second Ester supported me with some of her cosmetic collection; I loved when she allowed her glimmering lipstick to be applied on my dull-colored lips. As you can see below the result of their divine art–Ta-da!

Truly, completely love my braided hair.

Truly, completely love my messy braided hair.

Sandwiched by two Esters!

Sandwiched by two Esters! On my left is the first Ester and on my right is the second Ester. What a description! ha!

Self-capture 

It was announced that all participants of the banquet should assemble at 3 p.m., at the parking lot and a bus would bring us to the Hotel. Having too much excitement of attending this event, I was ready before the appointed time and to manage my time wisely, I and the two Esters had our ‘photo-shoot‘ moment. The breeze and green nature complemented the photo shoot. The images we took were evocative. I know it isn’t a breathtaking view but we earned our bliss. Indeed, so gleeful!

Posing with queen Ester my skillful hair stylish. Too bad she didn't join the banquet otherwise we could have taken more insane pictures.

Posing with the first Ester–my skillful hair stylish. Too bad she didn’t join the banquet otherwise we could have taken more insane pictures.

photo (6)

This wasn’t my dashing pose. I was just trying to make sure that I didn’t stepped on dog’s poo. 😀 Candidly Awesome!  #pic credit to Ester

Posing like a true model; I guess I chose the wrong major at college. Ha!

Posing like a true model; I guess I chose the wrong major at college. Ha! I thank my mom for her companion to find this floral gown and not just that she chipped in to help me purchase this gown otherwise it would suck my saving 😀

Banquet Etiquette

When the time was beckoning us to leave, we ended our photo-shoot. We headed towards the parking lot to meet with other participants. Nevertheless, as we met plenty of enchanting ladies, the photo-shoot started again–this time it became more intriguing. Everyone, as well as I, fished out the her pocket camera or cell phone from the purse, trying to document her beauty.

Enchanting camera Nazis! :D

Enchanting camera Nazis! 😀

Is it obvious that I'm 11 years older than them?

Is it obvious that I’m 11 years older than them?

Finally, we were sort of exhausted from too much posing and decided not to ruin the beauty before joining the main event; hence, we retreated to the bus. The fun didn’t continue as what we were expected when the rain fell from heaven. Moreover we had to delay our departure because it seemed, on this earth, not everyone knows what does ‘ON TIME’ mean. The bus had to leave around 4 p.m. In addition to the delay, we were stuck in a traffic jam for two and a half hours and the road that the bus took was crooked. These consecutive troubles which resembled mishaps made some female students threw up in the bus. The delay, traffic jam, and crooked road totally had ruined the fun, of course, the beauty. Perfect! Eventually, we arrived at the Savoy hotel around 6.25. One by one exited from the bus heading toward the banquet room. As we see the sparkling lights of chandeliers, well-designed table set, clean-lined curtains and table cloths, and colorful welcome drinks, our weariness suddenly perished. They had evoked our vigor.

Perfect combination of colors.

Perfect combination of colors.

Well-organized table set

Well-organized table set

Mr. S (initial), who was in charge to train us, appeared on the stage and started his lecture about banquet etiquette. I wasn’t really focused on what he was saying because my mind was just thinking of food, food, and food. Yes, I was sort of famished! I regretted so much for just having green beans for my lunch. I thought during the banquette we would have plenty of delectable foods. Whereas, we only feasted foods that were being served during the banquet training. The following was the sequence of the serving:

  •  Bread

As the tiny little bread being served by the waiters, almost all participants couldn’t wait to masticate it. Mr. S instructed us not to eat the whole bread but eat it piece by piece. But few listened to him, many rebelled. Ha!

Seeing this diminutive bread, my tummy roared.

Seeing this diminutive bread, my tummy roared.

  • Appetizer

Before the waiter served this 40-gram appetizer, I was all ready with my dessert knife and fork on hands. I couldn’t wait to devour it as soon as it landed on my table. I clearly heard that Mr. S instructed us not to make sound as we cut them into pieces. I failed. I cut them too hard due to my grumbling tummy and made noisy sound. Probably if I were at queen Elisabeth’s banquet, the royal guards would drag me out for not behaving like an elegant, well-oriented guest.

40-gram appetizer.

40-gram appetizer.

Clean slate! Ha!

Clean slate! Ha!

  • Soup

I had different soup from the others because I am a vegetarian. It was too oily and the taste was salty. However, I successfully devoured it due to my hunger.

The oily reddish soup was mine, the hotel gave me this since I am a vegetarian. On the left had chicken in it.

The oily reddish soup was mine, the hotel gave me this since I am a vegetarian. On the left had chicken in it.

The oily soup urged me to drink more.

The oily soup urged me to drink more.

This was the most anticipated moment; the arrival of the climax. I vividly remember that Mr. S kept echoing his advice to dine like a royal. Hello! Who, on earth, wants to eat like a royal when the tummy is shouting out loud! I gobbled my main course in just a couple minutes. My tummy was elated. I drew my smile even bigger.

The upper main course was mine, below was, i guess, cooked steak.

The upper main course was mine, below was, i guess, cooked steak.

I couldn't stop smiling while feeding the tummy. Indeed, we all seemed to relish every bite we made. :D

I couldn’t stop smiling while feeding the tummy. Indeed, we were relishing every moment of it.

  • Juice and Ice cream waffle

Dessert time! The last but not the least. They made my tummy even happier. The color and the sweetness completed the taste. My tummy finally said ‘enough’.

This made my tummy blissful.

This made my tummy blissful.

Shoutout:

Shoutout: “I feel enough!”

The night was wrapped; it was time to be home and had our beauty sleep. I conclude that to dine like a royal is not as easy as we thought. It requires beauty, elegance, and patience. Even though I didn’t really pay attention to Mr. S’ instruction, I know how it feels to be in a high-class society. Rules overrule life–the way we sit, stand, eat are counted. I am contented with the life that I have now. I can eat, sit, walk, stand the way I like without no one reprimanding me. I am self-molded and half divine; I am a royal in my own way. No queen can rule me for I am the queen of my life.

It wasn't complete to wrap the night without posing in front of the camera. :)

It wasn’t complete to wrap the night without posing in front of the camera. 🙂

Thank you for reading my long post, queens! Have a royal day ahead of you!

Ps: Some photos are credited to the second Ester! 😀

Leave a Reply

