OBJECT-FOCUSED PERSON


IMG_3664

It’s inevitable that I live in the world where windows, doors, trees, building, walls and food have become people’s favorite spots for picture-taking. In the past I had never taken picture next to a large window or a huge door that might accentuate my looks and outfits; I had never thought of capturing the food I was about to eat so that people would notice what I munch; I had never leaned on a colorful wall, of course. Anyway those things had never occurred to me, at all.

What this world has turned me into is something that I need to be aware of. I’m living in a world where the Millennials are all around. They are creative, fun, energetic, savvy, and a lot more to describe about them. One thing that caught my attention about them is they are object-focused person. Put it this way, to give more evidence, a famous actress posts a picture of her in a hotel room, the next day you’ll see lots of Millennials stay in that room. Young people hunt for great-capturing objects to be shown to their viewers, wanting to get so many likes and comments.

I guess I have been part of what’s trending; whenever I travel to some places, my eyes will roam around, trying to capture unique and eye-catching spots or objects. At first, I wasn’t aware of this sort of desire; I didn’t question myself why my focus was the object not the memory of being in that place. Until one moment I rummaged photos in my album and found out that I mostly captured objects or posed in unnecessary spots. Since then I realize I have actually ‘become’ object-focused person. Social media has made lots of changes into this world. People’s minds have been diverted into something unexplained and indescribable.

In my workplace, I’m dealing with the millennial; they want people to give them something enticing or attractive objects, never give burdens or pressures to them, they won’t be happy. As I get more engaged with them, I learn that  . . . oh boy . . . let me wipe my sweat . . . my future children will be part of the millennial, the object-focused human beings. Should I just literally embrace this fact?  . . . No!

IMG_2366

Leave a Reply

